www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Four out of five ain't bad

2003-06-12

For the last few days I've been putting the garden back into place. I haven't hurried. I'm trying to make decisions as I put stuff back. 'Do I really want this plant?' 'Is it possible for this plant to do well in this pot in my yard?'

Way too many variables to decide this stuff quickly.

My yard is too crowded. As much as I would like space for every plant I admire, there needs to be adequate room for me to care for them. And adequate room for us to enjoy them.

All of the bromeliads are doing well. Haven't lost a one of those. In fact, I need to learn how to propagate bromeliads. All of them have daughter-plants. I could have a lot more bromeliads if I knew how to split them. I'm sure I can find out.

There are four banana trees left. The miniature Kru died. I actually think that's kind of good odds, at least for me. That was the reason I got an assortment in the first place. If you get several, you have a better chance of one of them being able to survive your climate.

Unfortunately, after almost a year, the same held true for the nepenthes. I lost one. Four of them are growing and thriving. A couple, at least, have daughter plants. I'm still not unhappy with the results. Four out of five ain't bad.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter