www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

After the Interviews

2003-05-07

Two interviews today. I did tell myself I wasn�t going to do that again. It�s exhausting. I thought the real interview went well, but the woman I interviewed with (daughter of the owners) wasn�t giving anything away. Once or twice she let her guard down, but she pretty much pulled it back up again right away. I did ask questions that expressed my doubts about working in a family business, but her answers, to my surprise, quelled them.

At the agency I answered the usual questions and took the usual tests. The guy I interviewed with wanted to know if I was available to interview with the company he wanted to see me. Then his manager came in and talked about two or three other positions. She said that I was very marketable and she was sure she could place me. I told her that I wasn�t in a hurry to find a job. I had enough leeway to find a job that was right for me, and where I was right for the job.

When I got home I got a call from the agency that sent me on the first interview. She asked how it went, and I told her I thought it went well. She asked me if I was still interested and I said yes. Then she kind of told me that the experience listed on my resume would put me out of the range of a lot of her clients and she put down what I had made at my last job. She told me that a lot of people would be intimidated by my experience and figure that they would have to offer me a lot of money. Now, I�d like a lot of money, but I�d rather have something closer to home with reasonable hours and a reasonable work load.

This is really weird for me. I had a pretty hard time finding the last job. I figured to have the same kind of problem this time. But I told the agencies I wanted to work with that I was available on Monday. Two days. I�m starting to feel like I might actually have something valuable to offer.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter