www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Cooking Without a Net, etc.

2003-05-03

Another rainy weekend. The only good thing about the rain this year is that they haven't been touting it as an 'El Ni�o' year every three minutes.

I made a really good lentil soup the other day. Kind of surprised myself. I saw a show on how to make curry powder (silly me, I thought it came from a curry tree) and the combination of spices gave me ideas. Turned out pretty good.

It kind of surprises me how little I use recipes any more. Never for anything that I made up myself. Only when I'm trying to duplicate something someone else made do I use a recipe. Even when I get a new cookbook, I tend to use the recipe as an outline rather than an absolute rule.

I'm having lunch with youngest sister today and really looking forward to it. Italian food. I've eaten at the restaurant before, but I can't remember whether I like their food. I do remember that I like their apple martinis.

Spent a lot of time this week working in the yard. I actually cleaned up the back of the house, too. The day lilies that I dug up from out front and moved to the back mostly died, but only mostly. There are still a few hold outs and they're actually looking pretty good.

The bulbs that I moved back there are also doing tremendously. Blooming away. I didn't even realize it until I went into the studio to talk to the spouse and saw the flower heads nodding at window level. The hummingbirds love them.

Well, the rainy weather gives me the perfect excuse to stay inside and run through a couple of Photoshop tutorials. And play computer games. I can learn new stuff and have fun, too.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter