www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

20030327

2003-03-27

The �Anti-War� protestors have been demonstrating in my neighborhood for weeks now. Since before December. I remember seeing them the first time. I was more than a little surprised. Protestors. It�s been a long time since the last I saw a Protestor. This was months before the war started.

A few weeks later the �Support Our Troops� people showed up. I can�t help thinking how ignorant they were. Just because I don�t support the actions of our president, doesn�t mean that I don�t support the troops that are out there risking their lives to save mine. That doesn�t mean I agree with all (any) of the decisions our president makes. I didn�t elect him. I�m pretty sure that the American People didn�t elect this man at all.

For crying out loud, we never really elected him in the first place. The Electoral College is an idea whose time has past. There are computers now. The electoral college was meant for a time when people couldn�t communicate across the miles. There was no way for people to cast their own vote. Now we can. We can make up our own minds and cast our own vote.

Perhaps it was a blessing that it was so close a vote. Now we know. We couldn�t have done the �One Man, One Vote� thing until a few years ago. But now we can. The Electoral College is, should be, a thing of the past. We can, and should, vote for ourselves.

I�m sorry. I just think that being �Pro-US� is too general. I don�t agree with a lot of the things that my country does. I need to �think� about the things I want to agree with. And the things I don�t. I don�t agree with the pro-Bush people. Never have, starting with �Daddy Bush�, and never will, hoping to end with �Baby Bush�. Goodness save us, I dohope there is not another Bush in the White House. Two of them have brought us to the edge of extinction. Another one of them will see us over the edge.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter