www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Two Strange Things

2003-03-11

Saw a couple of strange things today. Saw butterflies chase a grasshopper out of the yard. I think they were chasing it. Either that or trying to mate with it. End result was that the grasshopper left. I�ve been watching the butterflies dance for days, trying to figure out if it�s territorial behavior or mating behavior. Today I saw a pair of butterflies do their swirling dance around a grasshopper when it landed on the vines on the wall. Flustered, frightened or in fearing the loss of its purity, I knoweth not. The end result was what I liked. It left. How many of you have butterflies guarding your yard?

Earlier in the morning I had been reading. I heard a very small �splat.� There, on my book, was what looked like a drop of blood. I checked hands, face, head. Whew! No blood. Then I smiled. I know what this stuff is, and it�s not blood. Somewhere over my head a new butterfly has emerged from its pupa. I see this stuff on the bottom of the butterfly box every time a new one hatches.

Oh, and I guess I�m no longer unemployed. A place that I interviewed with yesterday wants me to start tomorrow. I guess the agency must have talked me up some, because they�re giving me more than they said at the time of the interview. And they want me to start tomorrow. I figured I was going to be out of work for months. Damn. I�m going to have to reschedule tomorrow�s little trip to the arboretum.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter