www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Falling Dominoes and Falling Trees

2003-01-06

OK. I'm still seriously creeped out by the industry in which I find myself working. My imagination is just way too active. One of the things that bothers me deeply is the quantity of different absorbent items that we sell.

The co-worker that helped me get this job started today. We went out to pick up lunch and ran into another co-worker. She told us another key employee had turned in their resignation. It's like watching dominoes fall. From the point of view of one of the dominoes, of course.

I spent a lot of time Sunday sweeping the patio. Trying to get up some of the dust so I don't have to wash it down. As I went inside, the wind started to pick up. It got really windy. Gusts in the range of 80 mph. The weather guy said it was like a hurricane without the rain. There were power outages all over the basin. In one place there were 29 power poles in a row knocked down. Going to work this morning was like running an obstacle course. Fallen branches and fallen trees everywhere. Not to mention the power poles, light poles, railroad crossing arms and signals. What a mess. The roof kept creaking at work and I spent a lot of time hoping it wouldn't blow off. We did lose power for an hour or so, not quite long enough to send us home.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter