www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

A New Year and New Beginnings

2003-01-03

So. It's a new year already. Yesterday was my first day of my new job. I think it's going OK. I'm trying to figure out the reasons behind the stuff I'm going to be doing here. That, more than anything else, helps me remember what step comes next. It also helps me anticipate things that might be problems. I'm doing the best I can; which is pretty much being willing to do anything that needs doing.

I did seriously underestimate the creep value of working at a place that sells distributes supplies to medical examiners, mortuaries and funeral parlors. The needles are kept in my office. I've been taking inventory of the needles. There was one package of needles, five packages of twelve needles. It weighed more than a pound. And the shapes of them. Pointy on the ends and very sharp on the edges. It gives me shivers to think of them in use.

None of this will make me quit my job. And the people there are nice. They want to like me. I'm going to give them every chance.

On a lighter note, I spent part of my severance money getting a new camera. I got one twice as good as the old one for two thirds the money. It also weighs half as much as the old one; it takes only memory sticks, not floppy disks or a stick with an adapter. Much faster, with an optical as well as a digital zoom.

I researched it as soon as I had the planned approved by the beloved spousal unit and after I left on my last day at my old job I went and got it. I spent an hour or so with the manual and have been experimenting since. I'm waiting to be home for a good sunset so I can test out the optical zoom.

Another thing on my list of things to do with my severance pay is a new computer. I haven't had one of my ownsince before we got married, so I'm very excited. Mr. Wonderful is going to put it together for me. I had to apologize to him after I went out and looked at computers. I thought you could go buy a computer like you do a car. Pick this option and that option and get the computer you wanted. Nothing could be farther from the truth. Both Gateway and Dell have about nine different setups. You can buy one of three computers in three different price ranges. You're stuck with the package they give you, which includes some crappy ass software package that I would never use. So, my wonderful one, now I know why you went to all the trouble of building your own system instead of just buying one already put together. And would you, pretty please, put mine together, too?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter