www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

With gritted teeth

2002-12-27

I had a conversation with one of my co-workers today that is just making me grit my teeth even now, more than eight hours later. I get asked to answer software questions all the time. Not how to fix stuff. How to do stuff. "Hey, Gardenqueen! How do you do whatever?" Got two today. One was from our Director/VP. How do you delete more than one file at a time? I can't imagine him calling the help desk for that one. He'd delete files one by one from now 'til doomsday rather than admit that to damn near anyone else. Whenever he's needed help before he's always called me on the phone directly or sent his admin over to collect me.

The other one called me because, in her own words, "I'm so used to having other people do things for me I just didn't need to learn to do these things on my own."

I compared these two people in my head all day today. And I had no trouble at all picking which one of these people I respect the most. The one that tried on their own the most or the one that had no trouble at all telling people what to do. People whose jobs she didn't understand. "Anything I don't understand must be easy." Even though I disagree with him vehemently on many issues, I'd much rather work for him. Which annoys the heck out of me 'cause he's definitely old school. Practically 'A woman's place' old school. An idea that never went over well with me.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter