www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Falafels and Hummus

2002-11-07

Depressed with a capital D today. Not because of losing my job, though that does affect things. I feel like I'm part of the break up of a family. It's just sad. Watching people walk away, one by one, knowing I'm soon to follow.

Talked with our soon-to-be ex director this morning. He didn't know I was leaving. They hadn't told him. I think that's just rude. Was surprised to found out that he thinks the same thing I do about the decisions being made. Taking actions for short term profits instead of long term plans. Knee jerk reactions to market fluctuations or market analysts. What's good for the stock market may not be good for the company, especially in the long run. *Sigh* I hope those that remain are prepared for the worst. He did offer to be a reference for me. I told him I would take him up on that. I'd send him my resume and let him know what I was applying for before I had anyone call him.

I told one of our data warehouse guys that I was leaving today. I thought I was used to it. It was actually pretty hard not to cry. He told me I was one of the smartest people in the company and they were making a mistake. Made me feel nice. He also offered to be one of my references. I told him that I would probably take him up on it and he gave me his card. He is one of the nicest guys here. When things started falling apart here he came over and patted me on the back, expressing his sympathy.

The frog seems to croak every day around dusk. I was out again yesterday and the day before and he started croaking just as the patio lights started to come on. Penny ran over to see what she could find, but lost interest pretty quickly. Good thing. I don't want to be arrested for cat abuse.

There's supposed to be a big rainstorm on it's way tonight. Badly as we need it (really, really badly), I wish it would hold off for a day or so. I need to go out and pull some weeds, or maybe prune something. I need to do something constructively destructive.

D&D friend took me out for Lebanese food today for lunch. I ordered chicken stew, on special. It was OK, but it smelled strange. What parts of the chicken they used I don't even want to think about. Reminder to self - stick with falafels and hummus.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter