www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Disturbed Spiders

2002-11-04

I actually did some useful stuff over the weekend. Although most people couldn't see it if they looked. I moved all of the pots and stuff away from the area around the front door and swept away all of the accumulated dirt and leaves. Trimmed all the dead leaves off of the plants, brushed the cobwebs, dead insects, etc. off the pots and put them back. I washed out Grandma's abalone shells, swept of the windowsill by the door, washed the rock collection that I keep on the windowsill. I also cleaned off my potting bench. Whew! That was a mess. I disturbed more spiders in the last two days than I have in the last year. I still need to clean up and start throwing away pots. I have a ton of little tiny pots. They're not even useful for starting seedlings. I've gotten to the point where the only thing I use the small pots for is holding pencils, twist ties and other paraphenalia. I have a few small succelents in pots on the top shelf of the workbench, but I've come to the conclusion that plants only really get interesting as they get larger.

I felt as rootless as a floating bit of seaweed all weekend. Still moving, but directionless. Mentally I just feel unfocused. I have to go to work every day. I'm stuck between stages. I want to leave, to move on, but I have eight more weeks here. I haven't looked at all and only done one on-line thing in the stuff I can do with the outplacement place. I am going to another class tomorrow and I think I'll also talk to a counselor. I'm hoping the fact that I actually did something means that I

Spouse actually heard the croaker in the bushes yesterday. I haven't heard it in a while, so I was again wondering whether it was still there. I was sitting in my chair outside reading, when I sneezed. All of a sudden it starting making it's noise. It did it several times in a row. I got up and went inside to get a soda. My husband was sitting at the table working on something. I told him I'd heard it again and asked if he heard it. He said no. Then it croaked (quacked) again. He looked at me like he couldn't believe that was what I was talking about. He came outside with me and it did it a couple more times. I really want to know what it is. It sounds too loud to be one of the tree frogs, but it also seems unlikely that the bullfrog is living in the bushes. I really want to know, but not enough to disturb it's shelter. That would probably just make it change homes. I'll curb my curiosity and stick with my little mystery.

One of my co-workers is totally stressing out. Or has a brain tumor. She had bad headaches all weekend and one arm went numb for a while. So she called her doctor and asked see him. She went to his office and he sent her in for an MRI. That was this morning and we haven't heard from her all day. With an MRI you generally know if there's an irregularity right away. As a general rule, I panic only about my own medical conditions. I'm hoping she's all right. She's definitely one of the good ones. She works really hard and does a great job.

I think I made my husband feel a little bit better today. I actually looked at a couple of jobs on-line. And found one that I would like to apply for. If I got it I would be working for our competition. At least I got off the dime and looked.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter