www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Smoosh Continuation

2002-10-23

They broke the news to me last Thursday. Why the heck they couldn't have waited until Friday I just don't know. I actually came in on Friday. There's no getting around the fact that you actually have to talk to people, to tell them, so I figured I might as well get that part over with. I came in and told several people. They didn't tell anyone. I had to tell people. I had to tell my bosses, for crying out loud. I did my daily thirteen reports and then went home. That worked out really well. I got the hard part over, telling everyone, and then went home to do my suffering in solitude. So I had three days to get used to the idea before I had to come back to work.

I spent my three day weekend in avoidance. I'm guessing it's a form of denial. I didn't check out jobs on the internet. I didn't update my resume. I did clean the bathrooms and sweep alot.

It seems like the worse the real world is for me, the deeper I burrow into fantasy. I played computer games. I watched The Dark Crystal one night and Ladyhawke the next. 'Reality bites! Give me fantasy in large quantities!'

One of my co-workers, one that I admire very much and who has also been laid off, came by my desk this morning and gave me a little newspaper clipping. Her husband had left it on her pillow. It was all about how your attitude can help you in your job search. No doubt it's very correct and I'll take the advice, but the part that I appreciate most is the part that she thought of me .

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter