www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

My Shopping List

2002-09-24

Been getting some weird hits lately. The one I get most often seems to be for the Dalechampia dioscoreifolia. Maybe I ought to put up some pictures so they can actually see what they're looking for. Got a hit from an Italian search engine. Someone was actually searching for 'Gardenqueen'. Now that seems really odd.

I went to Trader Joes on Sunday. It is definitely one place I should not be allowed to go to alone. I went for bread and chips. I came out with bread. A hydrangea, an orchid, sherry, peaches, nectarines, grapes, green beans, frozen taquitos and some frozen quacamole to go with them. Bacon. They have the best bacon. A can of my favorite cookies, Corinthians, vanilla cream. Two bags of frozen chicken. The vitamin B12 that my doctor recommended I take. Totally forgot the chips and the only reason I remembered the bread is because it's the first thing you see when you come in the door. Whenever I say I'm going to Trader Joe's my husband should take away my purse, give me $20 cash and send me out the door.

I really like the place, though. It's where all the strange people shop. Leftover hippies that like to buy organic foods. People that drink soy milk. People that eat Kashi. A few women who don't shave under their arms. Alot of guys in sandles. People that are at least a little venturesome. People that probably read books! Now I've gotten that huge commercial for Trader Joe's out of my system. Whew!

My bookshelf cleaning project continues. I've been getting rid of all of the magazines I've collected. Well, almost. I'm keeping the Martha Stewart ones. I feel guilty about keeping them. I can't think of anyone less "Martha Stewart" than me. But I take some of the ideas I've gotten from the magazine, tweak them a little and use them for my own purposes. I made my fountain using the planter trough cement recipe I found in her magazine.

Still, despite my inability to do away with Martha, I am making progress in the clean-up direction. And I found something I've been wanting for quite a while. I've been working towards an Arts and Crafts style since we first got married. When we put in the wood floor and stripped the white paint off of the fireplace I took out the screen curtain that was on the fireplace. I thought an Arts and Crafts style fire screen would look better. I knew I'd seen one before, if I could just remember where. And in cleaning out the bookshelves, there it was. On the cover of a catalog from 1995. So old it didn't even have a web address. I looked them up on line and they still have it! Will wonders never cease. Now if only Pottery Barn still had the bookshelf I wanted order a month ago.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter