www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

The Hills are on Fire

2002-09-03

Diaryland ate my entry! Well, not really because I've gotten into the habit of writing my entries in a word processing program and then pasting them in, but I couldn't post an entry last night at all. I could upload pictures, but not entries. Ack!

Went over to my folks house on Sat. Youngest sister and family came over. Her husband was helping my dad with something computerish and my sister was getting her hair cut. Girl's nuts, driving forty miles to get her hair cut. Although I suppose it actually works out well for her. She has someone to watch the kids while she's out. Frequently she makes a shop stop on the way to or from. So she gets some alone time and doesn't have to change hairdressers. I'm afraid to change hairdressers myself. The last time I did I ended up with my hair two inches long. Totally not interested in repeating that experience.

Didn't get to spend a whole lot of time with my sister, but did spend a bit with my nieces. Had actual conversations. That was nice. It's not always easy to have a conversation with four year olds. Brought home a few crayon drawings for my fridge, too.

Went to Mother-In-Laws on Sunday. Her birthday is the fourth and we were going to take her out, but she's been sick. So we did her grocery shopping instead. Bought all the heavy stuff and lugged it over there. It was HOT! San Bernardino, armpit of the world and the heat makes it even less pleasant. It's always ten degrees hotter there. Printed up all of the Michigan pictures and took them over to share with her. It was kind of a pain getting them all ready, but I'm glad that I did. Now I can print off several copies and send them out to the relatives we stayed with.

On the way back from MIL's I saw some weird looking clouds. They looked like smoke mixed with clouds. And guess what? They were! Big surprise. A little brush fire that we had seen on the way out had turned into a big roaring forest fire by the time we were on the way home. The smoke was billowing up against the clouds and somehow working it's way between cloud layers. Very strange looking, in an awesome and scary way.

When we got home everything in the yard looked wilted. Goodness knows I felt wilted. Over a hundred. It was cooling down there for a while. I knew it would get hot again. I was just expecting an indian summer, not a furnace blast. Whew! Even the cats wanted to stay inside, and they're out on the patio every chance they get!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter