www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Walk in the Park

2002-08-14

So I asked my spouse to walk the short way home and then we could go out for an around-the-block (something under two miles) when he got home. We've been doing that for the past few days. It's very nice, I enjoy it. I feel like I'm getting out and doing something, but don't have to spend hours at it. The five mile walks were just more time than I want to spend on exercise in the evening. He still gets his 30 miles a week and I get an amount of exercise that I can handle.

Last night instead of around the block, we went around the park. I enjoy walking there much more than on the streets. The shadows at that time of day remind me of Eyvinde Earl landscapes; long shadows on green hills. There is more to see and to hear. I saw a kestrel flying overhead and heard parakeets in the eucalyptus trees. I'm pretty sure they were parakeets. They could have been mocking birds, I've heard them imitate cage birds before, but they only made parakeet sounds, so I'm guessing parakeets. We walked around the lake, over the flood control dam, through the little flood control plain that's left wild.

There's a greater variety of terrain as well. Some pretty steep inclines, a few boulders, loose rock, dirt. A bit more challenging, for me at least, and a longer walk. I'll have to take my camera the next time.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter