www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

A Very Merry Unbirthday to Me

2002-08-12

It was my birthday this weekend. Got cake at work on Friday. Two cakes, actually. Cheesecake and tiramisu.

Husband took me out on Sunday. Went to a cafe at our local mall that serves stuff appetizer style. Sat outside and watched the people show walk by. The goth couples in matching outfits, and in a couple cases with matching hairstyles. Mr. Control Freak, holding his wife by the elbow and steering his kid by the back of the neck. 'Where I go, everyone goes.' The lady in a tank top, tattooed from neck to wrists. I asked "Where do you work that you can get away with that?" Husband replied "Tattoo parlor." Why didn't I think of that? Walked up and down the mall. Went into the WotC store. Husband bought more miniatures to paint; I made him buy me some Magic cards. I keep buying them even though we no longer play.

After that we went to the Wolfgang Puck restaurant and had the creme brulee sampler. Creme brulee was good. Restaurant was a ghost town. I'm not sure if it's just that people only eat there when they're on an expense account or poor Puck has fallen out of fashion. It's a fun mall, with a big theater, but all the stoors are for the mid-twenties and younger crowd. The 'I'm still in school and not worried about dressing to suit anyone but myself' crowd. Damn. Wish I could afford to be one of them.

Went through the bookstore on the way out. Didn't see any books I was dying to have, but did buy one magazine on digital photography, one on digital imaging and web design, only ONE on gardening and one called Orion that I like in principle, but maybe not in actuallity. I would prefer less spirituality, and more practicality.

Bought some crickets for the newt on Saturday. No problem with the appetite on the little one. I got small ones, figuring that would give it more to do. Checked out some of the wildlife rescue/sanctuary places on line. Most of them specialize in the warm and fuzzy types. Still worth a try. There's one close to where this little on was found. Maybe they'll know something of use.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter