www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Itsy Bitsy Spider

2002-07-31

Last night we were sitting on the patio reading. Vines from both the passion flower and Dalechampia dioscoreifolia (purple hankie vine is the common name and I hate it) hang all over the place. I need to cut them back, and for goodness sake, keep them off of the roof. But I like the way they look hanging down, blooming at eye level. That's how I caught the picture of the big black bee the other day. Last night I saw movement on one hanging down in front of my chair. There was a tiny, 3/16's of an inch, green-gold spider crawling on the vine. I cursed myself for not having the camera hand, although it was probably too small to get a clear photo. Still, I've never seen a spider with a metallic body like that before. I'm thinking it was probably a wolf-type spider from way it moved. Quickly, in short little jerks. Didn't see it jump, but I'm guessing that it could. I'm going to go back tonight, but with camera in hand this time. Wonder if spiders have habitual territories?

I went looking for spider websites to see if I could find a picture or even a description of him. I didn't find one, but I did find this site. A fun find all by itself. Art for Arts Sake!

Thanks, Grouse, for the link. Very informative. That's what I get for thinking that anything with bumpy skin is a toad. Don't even want to think about the genetic dance that must have occurred to come up with a tetraploid.

Been spending way to much time envying Marn her space. She has some beautiful pictures of actual landscape. I can't imagine what it must be like to have that much space to work with. Of course I can't imagine endless rain, six months of snow and having to cover myself netting or insect repellent every time I go outside either. Still it would be nice to have more room and some actual dirt to work with instead of planters and pots. Probably the reason most of my photos are close-ups, besides that I'm a bit nearsighted, is that the long view is very limited.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter