www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

I Don't Have an Open Mind

2002-07-30

Picture O' the Day (and apropos of nothing) A tiny toad I saw while on my vacation in Michigan. I left it there. *Sigh*

I thought that I was an open-minded person. I thought I was capable of accepting people as they are. I find that I am not. We now have a cross-dresser/transexual person working in our company. And it makes me uncomfortable. Mostly because of myself. I'm afraid of the things that might come out of my mouth. My head knows that I should could her 'she', but my mouth SO wants to say 'he'. So now, much to my own chagrin, every time I see her in the halls I run.

I might be less worried about what I would say if the word 'bomb' hadn't been worked into every conversation I'd had with her. The first time I was trying to get something out of the vending machine in the break room and she said "I've found bombs work very well to get things out of situations like that." It just seemed so out of context. In the next conversation I was complaining, to someone else mind you, of some problems I was having with one of our suppliers. She walked by and said that bombs would change their minds.

Now I'm not only afraid I'm seriously going to put my foot in my mouth, I'm afraid she'll bomb me if I do. She also said that she'd had two of her drivers blown up when she worked as an anti-drug agent in Panama. Maybe that's where the whole bomb thing started, but it doesn't make me feel any more secure.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter