www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Parade - Part 1

2002-07-11

This was the beginning of the quintessential small town parade. I think this group consists of every veteran in town still capable of walking the two mile parade route. I was not the only one who got teary-eyed as they went by carrying our flag.

There were a bunch of kids on decorated bicycles. The whole parade was filled with this feeling of family and community. I don't know how else to describe it. I truly didn't think that parades like this still existed. I've been forced to watch the Rose Parade for years, this little parade put on by one small town beat the heck out of it in spirit. I feel lucky that I got to be there.

Can't have a parade without a fire engine. And what a fire engine.

This is one of my favorite photos of the whole parade.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter