www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Green Chrysoberyl

2002-06-09

A nice weekend. I actually did a few things this weekend. Work has been so demainding and so stressful lately that when I get home, I don't feel like doing anything.

I'm thinking that it's probably work that has me depressed. No one is ever happy with the work that I turn out. It's taken me months to figure out that it's the results they hate. Another case of 'If you don't like the news, kill the messenger.'

Went to the gem show at the Santa Monica Civic Center. The one right next to the court house. Yes, that court house.

for the first time in my jewelry making career I bought something sold by the carat. Chrysoberyl. I've heard of it once or twice, but in all the time I've been going to the gem show, I've never seen it before. I think I would remember. It looks like a pale green moonstone. I wonder what the differences in physical makeup are? Probably just enough to make it pale green instead of white.

I've been stringing them for the last two days. Had a strand 10 inches long and started all over because I didn't like the way it looked. Started this trand over twice because of flaws in a couple of beads. Have a strand 13 inches long now. Probably going to go another three or four inches. I like the way it's turning out. Having the silver beads to separate the chyrsoberyl works well. You can see much more of the shine because you see more of the chrysoberyl. I'm very happy with the way this piece is turning out.

After that, I have plans for some green garnet and some silver chain. And another after that.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter