www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Self Portrait

2002-06-05

Do you think that a work space can be a self portrait. I do. This is mine.

Workspace as Self Portrait

This group of objects says a lot about me. The oldest thing in the group of objects is the most expressive. The picture. It's actually some guy hanging upside down. I've had if for about sixteen years, if I remember correctly. I cut it out of a trade magazine when I had my picture framing shop. Probably about fifteen years ago. I still feel like that on a daily basis.

The second oldest thing is the red plastic letter opener. Ever had your life start over? Twice in the space of two years? I got hit by a semi on the way to do volunteer research work at the L.A. Zoo. I really thought I was going to die. The truck clipped the end of my car, I spun out sideways and he hit me again broadside. I'll never forget the site of that monstrous truck headed straight for me. It was the only time in my life that I've ever been hysterical. But it's not something I'm ever likely to forget.The letter opener is from the lawyer that helped me get my car replaced.

The third oldest thing, and first ppleasant memory is the bottle of stuff with yellow blobs. It was called 'Orbitz'. It tasted horrible.

Beloved spouse and I bought it in a grocery store near to home; probably the second year we were married. We bought two bottles. We drank one (imagine drinking sugar water with rather large bugs in it; it wasn't even carbonated). This is the second. I liked the way it looked and have kept it on my desk ever since. There's a web address on the cap; www.orbitz.com. It's not the address for a really bad soda anymore.

The second oldest thing is the computer and the space itself. I've learned so much during the time I've worked for this company. I've met wonderful (and horrible) people. I've expanded my skills. I've learned that there's something you can learn from everyone you meet. And, if you're lucky, they can learn something from you. That's one of the coolest things I can think about.

The newest and most wonderful thing in this picture is the little braided tree. My husband wanted something he could grow at his desk, so I got him one of these. It reminds me how lucky I am to have someone like him. Someone willing to combine his life with mine.

When we joined our lives, we both got stronger. At least that's the way I feel about it. He's been one of the most wonderful things that ever happened to me, and I'm glad to have that reminder on my desk.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter