www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

What do you do?

2002-05-17

Somebody, tell me, please? Is it too late to become an entomologist. Or maybe a gardener. I think it's too late to become a real gardener; someone who cares for a space. You can become a landscaper for sure. Someone who makes pretty, if you apply enough chemical fertilizer and poison. Too late for someone who helps stuff live and grow.

I don't hate my job; I kind of like it. I take information, data, and I look at it from all angles and tell you what I find. Women buy their software at office stores. Men buy their software at computer stores. Not really what I'm looking at now, but the kind of thing I find. My fingers itch to look at Grouse's data. How many ways could I look at this. What's the annual rainfall? How does it affect the number of grouse strutting? I dabble my fingers in the data stream and find the temperature of the water. Again and again I see cause and effect. I don't immediately know what was the cause and what was the effect, but if you look long enough, you see. You see the relations between things.

It's kind of cool. And kind of scarey. If the people who ask for the information don't or won't see the relationships, it's frustrating. You can tell them it's time for change, but if they don't listen, what do you do?

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter