www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Wrestling an Iris

2002-03-16

Well, I have a plant that I recommend not getting if you have a small water garden in and you live in Southern California. Don't get a yellow water iris.

I spent a very long time this afternoon wrestling with one that had completely taken over the tall water pot at the back of the patio.

I thought that the water lily that had been in the pot had died, but when I went back and looked at it, there were a few small, stunted lily leaves pushing up through the roots of the iris.

It was a job just getting it out of the pot. I plant each plant in a separate pot so I can take them out individually to maintain them. The iris had wrapped it's roots around every other pot in there. Including the ones I use to adjust each plant to the correct depth.

After I got it out, I had to hack and saw to free the other plants from it's grasp. I didn't even try to save the leaves on the lily. I just tried to make sure I saved the roots so it would have some chance at life.

So. I heartily recommend against putting yellow water iris in your water garden. I'm still not sure who won our wrestling match. I certainly think I'm going to pay for it tomorrow.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter