www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Sweet Olive

2002-03-02

Been sick for the last couple of days. Yeesh. Every time I catch a cold I wish I could live in a bubble. Miserable things.

Been playing games on the computer with the sliding glass door to the atrium open. I like the doors and windows open when possible anyway, but right now it's especially pleasant. The sweet olive is in bloom. I don't know the scientific name for this one or if it's really related to olive trees, but it smells wonderful. Like white-fleshed nectarines. (I'm not obsessed with food, I swear I'm not. . . much.)

I can't believe that so much scent comes from such tiny blossoms. They're about 3/16" wide.

I saw, or rather smelled this plant at the Los Angeles Arboretum years ago. It took me a few minutes to figure where the scent was coming from. The plant didn't have a species marker like most of the plants there, so I didn't know what it was.

I looked for it for years. Then one day I was leaving a nursery with my purchases when I smelled it. That was it; I knew it was. I snatched it up and headed back to the cashier.

I put it in a container in the atrium. (No way am I leaving this one behind when we move.) Since then every spring and fall it blooms and perfumes the office and entry. And makes me hungry for summer and nectarines.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter