www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Workin' On The Weekend

2001-12-14

No out today, but some pretty productive in. Gonna work on our company's website over the weekend. Real work that will show up on the real web. Dreams do come true. Perhaps. Maybe. If I try real hard, learn new stuff and do actual work.

I do so freakin' much work during the week that this is going to seem like a vacation. I'm excited. I'm doing the happy dance. I'm hoping for a chance to work with people I like and admire. Yes, ordinary people with halitosis, bad eyesight and some reticence in social situations. People I like nonetheless.

I pretty much reserve my weekends for myself. And the company I work for does not encourage people to work on the weekends or endless hours of overtime unless it is truly justified. It's one of the things I like about the company I work for. It actually does the best that it can for the people that work there. Within the bounds of reason, the law, and financial ability, it treats it's employees as a valued resource.

There are, however, people that treat employees as an expendable resource. I work for one of them. If he's not, he's given no indication of it. He seems to think if you're working a lot of overtime (unpaid, of course) you're doing a great job for the company.

Personally, I'm not willing to sacrifice my life for a company. The company itself neither wants nor needs that kind of sacrifice. The investment is not worth the return.

So give me a chance to leave behind someone that thinks that burning yourself out is an acceptable lifestyle. It's a personal mindset, not company policy. I'll continue to do the best I can; anything less would be a betrayal of my own principals. But I can and will do more.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter