www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Not My Best Effort at Step-parenting

2001-10-23

The raptors are back. I can always tell when winter has come in the Northern part of this continent. The raptors come back. Telephone poles along the freeways are occupied now. Along with any likely tree. Yesterday I saw a crow hassling a kestrel. I found it hard to believe that a crow would be threatened by a kestrel, but I guess the behavior is so ingrained that size doesn�t matter. I wish I could identify more of them, but the only one I can reliably identify is a red tail in flight. Pitiful. Of course, driving at freeway speeds does not lend itself to bird identification, even large ones.

I actually spoke to stepson last night. Told him not to leave his underwear ANYWHERE that I was going to find it. The natural response �I don�t do that.� Me, not quite at the top of my lungs �YOU DO IT ALL THE TIME!� At dinner I told him that picking up after himself would go a long way towards un-pissing me off. Also mentioned that getting a real job would go a long way towards un-pissing me off. Did this in conversational tones, not the near scream of earlier. I thought this showed great self-control. I have been wanting to wait until the middle of the night, stand in his door and yell �PICK UP YOUR UNDERWEAR!� And then jam the underwear he left downstairs on the chair on his head. Not my best effort at step-parenting, but not as bad as it could have been.

No outside time so far this week. It�s almost dark when I get home now, and it�s getting cool in the evenings. Sitting outside isn�t quite as pleasant as it was a few weeks ago. Which is kind of disappointing because the nasturtiums are starting to come up. It�ll look really nice out there in another week or two. The nasty�s like the cool weather. Unfortunately, I don�t.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter