www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Slow Motion

2001-08-06

Spent some of the weekend cleaning out the garden. Cutting down the sunflowers that have gone to seed, then been cleaned out by the birds. Cutting down the parts of the tomato plant that is still going from last year. I can�t believe that thing is still going. It reached the roof beams and shows no sign of stopping. So I cleared out the dead branches and let it go. We had tomatoes in December last year. I took the tomato-raisins and distributed them around the yard, where I would mind

Some of the seed heads I harvested and saved to plant next year. I planted the last of this years sunflower seeds. I thought I might as well. There�s still time for another round of flowers and the germination rate will be much lower next year. It�ll also give the birds some seed later in the year.

My husband and I went to my sister�s house for her birthday on Saturday. An uneventful family birthday party. The drive home was not so uneventful. I watched some poor girl flip her car. I swear the whole thing happened in slow motion. I saw smoke a couple of cars ahead of us, and started to warn my husband. What I didn�t yet realize was that it was the smoke from tires skidding on the pavement. Then I saw the car headed over the embankment, doing a flip and roll along the way. It seemed like the car was in the air forever. Then, crash, bang and it landed on its side. When we drove past, a few seconds later, the driver was trying to get out. I could see her head and hands as she looked around. Thank you, person, for wearing your seatbelt and making my day a little less exciting. The squashed person kind of excitement I don�t need.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter