www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

I Know Where the Bugs Live

2001-06-04

Casualties: I didn't count. I just threw the snails in the trash. Tired of squashed snails all over the patio. I'm probably dooming the world to be overrun by snails mutated by the chemicals in the landfill.

Another yucky weekend. I don't feel like I'm living in Southern California these days. It misted heavily enough to get the ground wet over the weekend again. It's normal to have overcast at this time of year, but usually it breaks up in the early afternoon and we have at least some sun.

It's been a great year for nasturtians, but my sunflowers are unhappy. They get mold in this weather. I can feel them holding back, waiting for the warm days to bloom. Days when all the bees and other polinators are out in force.

I've moved lately from taking pictures of flowers, to taking pictures of bugs. It's much more challenging than flowers. Aside from breezes, flowers stand still. I think that's why I started taking pictures of them in the first place. They're much easier subjects than things that move around.

As a result of my photographic efforts, I'm getting to know where the bugs live in the garden. There's a green spider living at the top of one of the sunflowers, an unknown bug living at the top of one of the others. A ladybug has decided it likes living on my corn plant.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter