www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Memories in the Dark

20030123

I was sitting in front of the computer today, singing a song to myself. It wasn't a song from my generation, or even a song from my parents generation. It was a song that my great uncle Bill used to sing to me. My grandmother's sister was married four or five times. I don't know which husband Bill was, I didn't even know his relationship to me until quite recently. But I remember him singing songs to me and my sisters when I went to visit my Grandmother and my Aunt. 'Bicycle Built for Two' among others.

It's strange, the things that you remember about people that are gone.

My Mom's parents used to visit us during the winter. They lived in Michigan and winters with us were much more of a vacation than summer would have been. My grandmother died when I was 11 or 12. My grandfather continued to visit us during the winter for a few years after she died. We were never quite sure when he would arrive. I remember my Momcoming to pick us up one evening and saying to her 'Grandpa's here! Grandpa's here!" When we drove up to the house, all the windows were dark. She told me, no, Grandpa's not here. But I was still sure that he was. I ran to the door and opened it up. The familiar smell of cigar smoke wafted out. Grandpa was there. Sitting at the kitchen table in the dark. I was so glad to see him.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter