www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Population Control

2001-05-25

Casualties:

Last night - 12!! snails. Again! Two cabbage worms.

This morning - 2 snails. Damn straight! My efforts at snail population control have to pay off eventually.

A long weekend looms. Hurrah! I only work to support my gardening habit. If only I could find work that allowed me to do both at once. I foresee much sitting around in the garden reading, drinking to excess, and chiseling on the pillar. The pillar is a four foot. . . guess what, cement pillar. Having an irresistable urge to make stuff, I decided I wanted to make an obelisk, sort of rough and ancient looking, and chisel designs on it. However, in it's current state, it looks like a giant penis.

It's been a work-in-progress for the last three months. Since it stopped raining long enough to cast it. The casting didn't go all that well; I'm not the best cement caster in the world. Fortunately it's going up against a wall and I face the really screwed up side against the wall. I don't have to worry about it haunting my future, either. It's a cement/perlite mix to make it lighter and it's crumbling by the hour. I painted it with a masonry sealer, but I don't suppose that will do too much good. I think I'm grateful.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter