www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Kiwi Blossom

2001-04-12

I have a blossom on my kiwi vine! I have a blossom on my kiwi vine! I grew this from the seeds of fruit I bought from the store. They were these little tiny kiwis, the size of a seedless grape and I saved the seeds just in case I could get them to grow. Kiwi plants do pretty well in Southern California.

Well, I planted the seeds in pot, wrapped it in a plastic vegetable bag with some chopsticks to make a tent and ignored them for over a month. When I finally checked them, there were sprouts! I couldn't believe it. I've never had much luck with little tiny seeds. It's hard to keep them moist for long enough for them to turn into plants.

I transplanted it into a large pot with an upside down tomato cage for it to climb a couple of months ago. Apparently it likes it's new abode, because it has a bloom on it. It's only about a quarter inch across. And there are other buds as well. Now if only it was a self-polinator (unlikely in a kiwi) I would get fruit!

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter