www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from lorinda3l2000. Make your own badge here.

Today - Yesterday

Leave me a note?

Older Entries

Favorite Diaries

invisibledon
andrew
grouse
kitchenlogic
peachfront
mare-ingenii
marn
timdangerous
augustdreams
smoog
cosmicrayola

Butterly Box

2001-02-26

Despite the fact that it rained the whole darn weekend I actually did something garden related. I'm building a butterfly box.

We have this passion flower vine in the yard, and apparently the caterpillers of the gulf frittilary love it. I was going to pull it out because it's pretty straggely, but I wanted to have a garden that was a wildlife sanctuary, and the butterflies are gorgeous. So I put up with a straggely, much chewed vine, and get butterflies in return.

There's only one problem. Ants think that the butterfly pupae are delicious. I've paid with the appearance of my vine to get the caterpillars to a size where they can morph into butterflies, and then the ants eat the pupae. So I'm building this box with screened sides and top and a removeable bottom so I can clean it. I bring in the caterpillars when they get large enough so they can pupate safely. Voila! Butterlies. It's even going to be nice looking. I've stained the wood to match the furniture, no less. Because I already had the stain, of course.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter